FEDERAL MINE SAFETY AND HEALTH REVIEW COMMISSION

601 NEW JERSEY AVENUE, NW SUITE 9500 WASHINGTON, DC 20001 June 2, 2011

:	
:	
:	Docket Nos. PENN 2009-775
:	PENN 2009-825
:	PENN 2010-63
:	
:	
	::

BEFORE: Jordan, Chairman; Duffy, Young, Cohen, and Nakamura, Commissioners

<u>ORDER</u>

BY THE COMMISSION:

This matter arises under the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977, 30 U.S.C. § 801 et seq. On April 25, 2011, Shamokin Filler Company, Inc. ("Shamokin") filed a document entitled "Petition for Interlocutory Review" with the Commission pursuant to Commission Procedural Rule 76, 29 C.F.R. § 2700.76, that is at issue in this Order. Shamokin seeks review of an order issued by Administrative Law Judge John Lewis on March 11, 2011, in which he ruled that Shamokin's carbon plant is under the regulatory jurisdiction of the Mine Safety and Health Administration

Previously, on April 6, 2011, Shamokin had filed with the Commission a document entitled "Petition for Discretionary Review," seeking review of the judge's order. The Commission determined that this order was not a final decision that ended his jurisdiction over this matter. In his decision, the judge resolved the jurisdictional issue, but made no findings regarding the violations and penalties at issue. As a result, the Commission determined that Shamokin's petition was not a valid petition for discretionary review of a final decision under section 113(d) of the Mine Act, 30 U.S.C. § 823(d). On April 8, 2011, the Commission issued an order denying the petition on that basis.

On April 8, 2011, Shamokin filed a Motion for Certification of Interlocutory Review with Judge Lewis. On April 12, 2011, Judge Lewis issued an Order Denying Certification for Interlocutory Review.

Upon consideration of Shamokin's petition, we have determined that it has failed to establish that the March 11, 2011, order issued by Judge Lewis involves a controlling question of law and that immediate review may materially advance the final disposition of the proceeding. 29 C.F.R. § 2700.76(a)(2). We therefore deny the petition.

Mary Lu Jordan, Chairman

Michael F. Duffy, Commissioner

Michael G. Young, Commissioner

Robert F. Cohen, Jr., Commissioner

Patrick K. Nakamura, Commissioner

Distribution:

Adele L. Abrams, Esq. Law Office of Adele L. Abrams, P.C. 4740 Corridor Place, Suite D Beltsville, MD 20705

W. Christian Schumann, Esq..Office of the SolicitorU.S. Department of Labor1100 Wilson Blvd., Room 2220Arlington, VA 22209-2296

Jessica R. Brown, Esq. Office of the Solicitor U.S. Department of Labor The Curtis Center, Suite 630E 170 S. Independence Mall West Philadelphia, PA 19106-3306

Melanie Garris Office of Civil Penalty Compliance MSHA U.S. Dept. of Labor 1100 Wilson Blvd., 25th Floor Arlington, VA 22209-3939

Administrative Law Judge John K. Lewis Federal Mine Safety & Health Review Commission Office of Administrative Law Judges 7 Parkway Center 875 Green Tree Road, Suite 290 Pittsburgh, PA 15220