## FEDERAL MINE SAFETY AND HEALTH REVIEW COMMISSION

1730 K STREET NW, 6TH FLOOR WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006

January 19, 2001

SECRETARY OF LABOR,

MINE SAFETY AND HEALTH

ADMINISTRATION (MSHA)

on behalf of GRANT NOE, JR.

:

v. : Docket No. KENT 99-248-D

.

J & C MINING, L.L.C., and

MANALAPAN MINING COMPANY, INC. :

BEFORE: Jordan, Chairman; Riley, Verheggen, and Beatty, Commissioners

## <u>ORDER</u>

## BY THE COMMISSION:

In this discrimination proceeding arising under the Federal Mine Safety and Health Act of 1977, 30 U.S.C. § 801 et seq. (1994) ("Mine Act"), Administrative Law Judge Gary Melick concluded that Grant Noe, Jr.'s refusal to transfer from the first shift to the third shift was not protected, and that J & C Mining, L.L.C. did not constructively discharge Noe in violation of section 105(c)(1) of the Mine Act, 30 U.S.C. § 815(c)(1). 22 FMSHRC 404, 410 (Mar. 2000) (ALJ). The judge consequently dismissed Noe's discrimination complaint. *Id.* at 411. On April 25, 2000, the Commission granted the Secretary's petition for discretionary review challenging the judge's decision.

On December 4, 2000, the parties filed a Joint Motion For An Order To Approve Settlement ("Joint Motion") and a General Release And Agreement ("Agreement"). In light of the parties' agreement to the terms of the settlement, we dismiss this matter and grant the parties' request to maintain the confidentiality of the Agreement to the extent permitted by law.

Mary Lu Jordan, Chairman
James C. Riley, Commissioner
Theodore F. Verheggen, Commissioner
Robert H. Beatty, Jr., Commissioner

Accordingly, this proceeding is dismissed.

## Distribution

Brian Dougherty, Esq. Office of the Solicitor U.S. Department of Labor 2002 Richard Jones Rd., Suite B-201 Nashville, TN 37215

Jack Powasnik, Esq.
Office of the Solicitor
U.S. Department of Labor
4015 Wilson Blvd., Suite 400
Arlington, VA 22203

Susan C. Lawson, Esq. Lawson & Lawson, PSC P.O. Box 837 Harlan, KY 40831

Administrative Law Judge Gary Melick Federal Mine Safety & Health Review Commission Office of Administrative Law Judges 5203 Leesburg Pike, Suite 1000 Falls Church, VA 22041